IVF Cycle #1: The First Day of Injections

Now that our IVF cycle has officially started, I’ve spent the entire day anxiously awaiting my first injections. Way back in September–before we left for our trip to England & Wales, before ever meeting Elle*, before our lives were irrevocably changed– Kyle and I sat down with our fertility nurse to learn all the details of how to administer the medication. Back then we had no idea that the information wouldn’t be relevant until nearly six months later or that I’d have so much time to build it up in my mind while our cycle was delayed even further.

The thought of pushing needles through my own stomach has never been a pleasant one, but even still, I can’t complain too much. When Elle received her first injection (which are different than mine and not in the stomach) in the end of December, she had to overcome a serious fear of needles to get through it, and since then she’s practically become an expert. On the other hand, I don’t know why the thought of starting this medication makes me so anxious. Unlike Elle, I am fortunate not to have a fear of needles (which would have made living with chronic illness nearly impossible). I’ve also already been in much more pain today than a needle could cause me, and I’ve been through much worse medically than stomach injections. This isn’t even the hardest thing I’ve had to do for infertility, and I’d easily agree to do much more than this in order to have a child. But still, I am struggling to go through with it.

IMG_0421
This stuff cost almost $3,000 for about 2 weeks worth of medication at a nearly 50% discount.

Last week I received the large box of medication, needles, syringes, gauze, alcohol swabs, and pills I’ll need to get to my egg retrieval in two weeks. It was an incredibly overwhelming package to receive, especially because it has been such a long time since I was taught how to use everything and there are about 5 different types of needles in all. I’ve watched the instructional videos several times already and set everything up in the guest bathroom so that I can leave it out over these next few weeks.

IMG_0451
I’ve taken over the guest bathroom. Everything else had to be stored in the fridge.
IMG_0462
This is what I get to use tonight.

Kyle helped me prepare the injections, which included mixing the two little glass bottles above (one is full of powder, the other liquid). My legs shook while he guided me through each step as if he has been doing this all his life. It all comes down to two injections I have to give myself tonight, and as Kyle used to say when we first met in college: There’s nothin’ to it but to do it.

IMG_0463
Tonight’s injections: Follistim (dosage 225) and Menopur (1 bottle of powder)

*Name changed for privacy reasons

7 thoughts on “IVF Cycle #1: The First Day of Injections

  1. Maybe Paddington bear can help calm the fear and nerves during your injections. I heard he can be quite the comforter. I remember memere having to take some insulin injections in her stomach at times and she always had her bears around when she had to do that. she was such a trooper and so are you. I still have a collection of her favorites and will hug one close each night for you during these next few weeks. Wish I could be there with you but I know you’ll get through this!! Love you so much Ashley, MoM A

    Like

  2. We’re praying for you and standing with you as you face this. As you said you have faced so much before this and will be able to do this, too. I know you and Kyle are developing a deeper, stronger relationship in the Lord through this – the three strand cord cannot be broken.

    Like

  3. Prayers for you & Kyle during your pursuit of a family. Thank you for sharing. I had no idea of what this entails, but I am learning as you go on this journey and I am amazed at your strength ,honesty ,and courage. May God’s peace surround you both.

    Like

Leave a Reply

