“Just Hang in There”

A week ago today, Jimmy Fallon and his wife welcomed a second baby girl into their family via gestational surrogacy. Last year when their first daughter, Winnie, was born with the help of a gestational carrier, Jimmy opened up about their struggle with fertility issues and the ultimate decision to use a surrogate. When all of this happened last summer, Kyle and I were already actively pursuing the idea of having a gestational carrier. It didn’t start off promising, and we were rapidly losing hope, but seeing the Fallons so happy encouraged us to keep fighting.

“We tried for a long time, for five years. I know people have tried much longer, but if there’s anyone out there who is trying and they’re just losing hope . . . just hang in there. Try every avenue; try anything you can do, ’cause you’ll get there. You’ll end up with a family, and it’s so worth it. It is the most ‘worth it’ thing. I’m just so happy right now. I’m freaking out.” – Jimmy Fallon, 2013

The first time I heard those words I felt like he was speaking directly to us. Now, a year and a half later, the Fallons have been able to add to their family via surrogate for a second time, and we are deeply entrenched in the surrogacy process ourselves. I am so grateful for those who have walked this path before us and chosen to be open about their experience. Not only is it comforting to know that we are not alone, it also helps others to become more familiar with surrogacy and understand why we chose to pursue this option.

1376406808_jimmy-fallon-winnie-zoom
Jimmy Fallon with his oldest daughter, Winnie. Surrogacy made this child’s life possible.

On Monday we got ready for bed and turned on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon for the first new episode since the birth of his second daughter. Now that we’ve waded through a good portion of this process ourselves, we have a better understanding of what the Fallons have had to endure in order to have their children. Watching Jimmy as he shared the news of his second daughter’s birth was very emotional for me. I gripped Kyle’s hand with my own while we waited for him to mention his surrogate, and as soon as he did I buried my head in Kyle’s chest and sobbed. I am so happy for them. I can only hope that someday we will know what it’s like to be on that “other side” of infertility.

 

“It’s a great time for me and my family. Last Wednesday we had a new addition; her name is Frances Cole… I just want to thank everyone– the nurses, and the doctors, and our surrogate who had our baby… I can’t say anything more; I don’t know what the rules are, but I just want to say that there are angels in Dallas, Texas.” – Jimmy Fallon, December 8, 2014

Leave a Reply

